

Departments of Allied Health Professions and Nursing and Midwifery Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team

Terms of reference

Responsibility:

The AHP and N&M Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team is responsible for the collation and submission of applications for Departmental membership of the Athena SWAN Charter. It is responsible for developing, implementing and monitoring the associated Action Plan.

Remit:

- 1. To promote a positive and inclusive academic environment for students and staff within the Departments following the key principles of the Athena SWAN Charter.
- 2. To maintain and progress joint-Departmental engagement with the Athena SWAN Charter.
- 3. To develop, implement and monitor an Action Plan to deliver the aims of the Athena SWAN Charter within the Departments.
- 4. To undertake data collection of female representation in the Departments at all levels.
- 5. To identify areas for improvement and make recommendations to the Heads of Department regarding actions to create inclusive Departments and to improve the representation, retention and progression of women in the Departments.
- 6. To communicate and promote the Athena SWAN Charter initiative with staff and students within the Departments, Faculty and wider University.
- 7. To be proactive in identifying examples of good practice and in reporting feedback to improve the lived experience in the Departments.

Reporting to:

The AHP and N&M SAT reports directly to the Heads of Department and to the University's Athena SWAN SAT.

Meeting frequency:

The N&M and AHP SAT will meet four times a year. In the run-up to a resubmission, the meetings shift to bi-monthly meetings

Membership:

UWE Athena SWAN Officer	Evanthia Triantafyllidou (ex officio)
Head of Department	

Associate Head of Department	Dr Mary Cramp,
representative	
Programme Manager representative	Shan Aguilera-Stone, Jo Jones
Research Centre management	Prof Shea Palmer
representative	
UG Student representative	
PGR Student representative	Sarah Bennett
External Researcher representative	Dr Emma Dures
Lecturer representative	Angie Bamberry
Senior Lecturer representative	Dr Sally Dowling, Dr Julie Woodley, Adrusha
	Ramsunder
Technical staff representatives	Lauren Davis
Associate Prof/Prof representative	Dr John Albarran
Widening participant representation	Mandy Bancroft, Alex Mormoris

Members will be appointed for a term of two years in the first instance renewable for a further two years. The Steering Group can co-opt additional members as full members of the group or for specific pieces of work.

John Albarran & Mary Cramp

Athena SWAN Departmental co-leads, October 2016